Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Remember LOKI’D?  Well, I still am, but who is with me when I say that I think The Lego Movie was pretty fantastic?  LEGO’D!!

I loved all the characters!  Emmet, Wyldstyle, Vitruvius, Good Cop/Bad Cop, the spaceship guy, and of course, BATMAN!!!

I loved all the characters! Emmet, Wyldstyle, Vitruvius, Good Cop/Bad Cop, the spaceship guy, and of course, BATMAN!!!

I will be truthful and say that I think this type of movie probably appeals more to the college student geek that I am, but I see no reason why all age-groups could enjoy it.  There’s really a little something for everyone: nerdy references, creativity, clean and bright animation, adventure, self-awareness, and comedy.  It was a huge hit with my buddies and an all-around fun time for groups.

When I say the movie was self-aware, what I mean is really that it was the type of movie that almost watched itself with you and when you would turn to the moviegoer at your side, laughing and asking: “Did they really just do that?” … it would bite its lip, nodding and laugh right along with you.  It reminded me of The Emperor’s New Groove in that way.  There was just a bit of sarcasm and cheekiness to let you know that yes, they did mean, in fact, to do that.

And can we talk about the cast, please?  I was sold from Batman, but let me just drop some names…  Elizabeth Banks, Liam Neeson, Morgan Freeman (I mean come on, right?), Channing Tatum… okay, well I don’t really care that Channing is in the film at all (don’t worry, his part is minimal), but they got the real Lando to be Lando for the Star Wars bit!

“Hello, what have we here?” Yes, it really was Billy Dee Williams.  :0

Batman was clearly the heart-throb of this movie. ;)

Batman was clearly the heart-throb of this movie. 😉

At this point, it’s all just excitement really, but I am one of those people guilty of hyping up a movie so big that it cannot possibly live up to the fantasy.  However, I think that it’s important that while we are smart about what we watch and about what propaganda we are being fed, that we still take the time to enjoy a movie in wonder as a child would.

Frankly, after midterms and all that, I was ready to do just that and I found that The Lego Movie was just what it promised: a delightful animated film filled with creativity, humor, and fun.  It was just what one wanted to finish off the first half of this semester before spring break.  I’m sure that later I will go and buy the movie myself and then watch it again and again, posting my findings of anything catechetical, but for now, EVERYTHING IS AWESOME!

